Blighted Bellies n Pelvic Dreams

My journey to having a baby as a 38 yo with undetected Pelvic Inflammation Disease

First Ultrasound tomorrow!!! Nervous…not!

on February 10, 2013

So tomorrow, I have my first ultrasound to check out the progress of my growing follicles. Besides a little bloating, I feel fine. My tummy looks like it’s been a few rounds of missed punches at my Friday boxing session but otherwise it is just the same.

Damn! Was hoping for a bit of weight loss!!!!

I have been injecting 300 (something!) of Gonal-f for 4 days and started the supplementary injection this morning. My partner watched me ‘shoot up’ for the first time yesterday and was mighty impressed (I think!). His only comment was, “Glad you have to do it because I couldn’t!” Needless to say, he won’t be giving me my trigger shot!

It was so surreal, that first shot. I had a friend who is a midwife, here to just keep my mind at ease. I leant on the dining room table for seemingly forever, before I took the jump, or rather, pushed that needle! Grab a chunk of skin and PUSH!

It didn’t hurt! At all!!!!!

I feel like I am doing nothing. I worry that I have forgotten an injection as it takes so little time to complete that small task, yet so much depends on it. I worry that everything is on track. I worry that my 38 year old eggs might not perform even though the doctor couldn’t believe that we were 38 and 39 yo.

I have a slight head cold  and that’s keeping me pretty quiet.

My ultrasound is at 10:45am and, as its two hours away, I have to take the whole day off work. Easier said than done! I will spend most of the drive to the doctors worrying that the relief teacher understands my planning.

Once it’s finished though, a little celebration trip to a shopping centre is planned. Suppose that will depend on the outcome of the ultrasound.

Wish me luck, fingers crossed x


Leave a comment