Blighted Bellies n Pelvic Dreams

My journey to having a baby as a 38 yo with undetected Pelvic Inflammation Disease

11weeks 4days and just perfect!

on June 25, 2013

After a worrying few days over the weekend, I got an appointment straight away with my GP on Monday morning. Even tho I havent had my initial meeting with her yet, she knows we are pregnant and all the details, she got straight to the business of the spotting and sent me straight for a scan.I wanted to take my step-daughter (18yo) who has been involved in all of our ivf, as much as we can include her as she lives 200km away, wanted her to see the ultrasound but wanted to protect her in case things werent as they were suppose to be.

Now I wish i had rang and she had driven to the clinic and she had waited in the clinic until i knew it was all ok.

One of the first sights I saw in the ultrasound was our baby as a bobblehead! Then I realised it looked like a baby!!!! Arms, legs, face, head. Little tubby body πŸ™‚

Then I asked about the heartbeat, and the ultrasound guy said, Yeah its there! (Phew, whole reason I was there!)

(When I saw my GP the next day, she asked why did he take all these pics, we just wanted to know it still had a heartbeat! I said that it was okay-it was $170 whether he took one scan pic or a lot!)

He also measured its head circumference (6cm) in case I want to knit a beanie, its crown-rump length (5.19cm) and its heartbeat (143 which my step-daughter tells me is perfect if it was a dog!-shes training to be a vet nurse!)

I then had to tell Ranga why I had been for a scan. He doesnt cope with decisions and stress at the best of times and he had had a few mind numbing days last week, so I hadnt told him about the spotting. He coped just fine and was just happy everything was fine!

So, the next scan is Tuesday 2 July. Its the nuchal translucency scan to measure for indictors of Down Syndrome etc. I am taking my little sister (who is unable to have children at all) and if the lil one moves and jives like it did on Monday, then she will in for a good show!

Sooooo relieved!

3 responses to “11weeks 4days and just perfect!

  1. Persephone says:

    Glad everything’s okay x πŸ™‚

  2. JustHeather says:

    Glad to hear all is well!

  3. baylord1 says:

    Glad the appointment went well! I don’t have my NT until 7/5. I’m still confused by my dates, I should be 13 weeks 4 days, but I was 3 days behind at last scan.

Leave a Reply

