Blighted Bellies n Pelvic Dreams

My journey to having a baby as a 38 yo with undetected Pelvic Inflammation Disease

First scan ever ever EVER!

on May 23, 2013

6wks 4days OR 6wks 6days

My friends all had babies in their teens and twenties. A majority were single mums and delivered thru public health. I have held their newborns, fed them, drove them to sleep, babysat and changed nappies.

But i have never ever seen a scan!

I have Mashed vegies, wiped up spills, held their hands, watched first steps and heard first words. I have rubbed sore bellies, fixed up scrapes with bandaids and rubbed bonjella on teething gums.

But i have never ever seen a scan!

Until tomorrow……

My first pregnancy only had a desperate scan on a Saturday night by a doctor trying to sort out my mess. The ultrasounds that followed were to diagnose what was happening and i viewed an empty womb.

Until tomorrow……

I am only a smidgen worried but probably its more being nervous. I am past the stage where my previous pregnancy malfunctioned so that doesn’t worry me. I have morning sickness like a sobering sailor so i know my hormones are kicking still. I have maintained a positive outlook from the start of the ivf-fet process and thats paid off so far.

Its like two week wait all over again, its taking that step into the unknown.

Its like the pregnancy test-i will cry, guaranteed! But this time my Ranga partner will be by my side xoxo

5 responses to “First scan ever ever EVER!

  1. I’m so excited for you!! It’s such an amazing time! I cried at the first scan… and every one after haha. Even just the heart beat makes me tear up! Looking forward to following your journey and all the best!!

  2. sassyray says:

    Whoo-hoo!!! How exciting for you!!! I’m right there with you! My first appointment is in 2 hours! Can’t wait to hear all about yours! Im a bit jealous of you though – my doc doesn’t do scans until 20 weeks, but he will let us hear the heartbeat today! Eeeeekkkkk!!

  3. dustymom says:

    Can’t wait to hear your report! 🙂

  4. I cried at the first and the first time I saw them moving. It’s normal to worry. You’re nervous! It will be such a relief to see the little one(s). I’m so grateful for the ultrasound tech. She was like a tour guide pointing out the sights. “Here are the babies. This is Baby A and here is its yolk sac. You can see its heart beating over here.” haha!

Leave a Reply

