Blighted Bellies n Pelvic Dreams

My journey to having a baby as a 38 yo with undetected Pelvic Inflammation Disease

Six eggs :( but it only takes one to make baby.

on February 19, 2013

The verdict was thru after the egg pick up.

There was a lot of discussion and figures about my partner’s sample. His was brilliant compared to the last 2 tests. Then, just incidentally, the embryologist said that I had six eggs. SIX????!!!!! The girl in the corridor was disappointed with her 11 because she had 17 last time.

SIX?!!!

My brain melted for a few minutes and the scientist said, ‘Oh weren’t you told yet? Yes there were 6 eggs and 10 follicles.’ Within about a minute I had to decide did we want to try ivf (eggs n sperm left to dance n find each other overnight in a petrie dish!) or prefer icsi (sperm inseminated into eggs by scientists). My head was full. I had to make a CHOICE??? You tell me I have six and in the next breath ask me what I want done??!!!!

Ranga (my partner xo) took control, bless him, and said to me that I had to decide. I said that I didn’t care, just do whatever the doctor suggested. He said, ‘No, you have to say it.’ And I couldn’t. My brain was fogged over. He told the embryologist to follow thru with ivf and wallah! The decision was made.

Phew!

As we fell asleep last night, I said to Ranga, ‘I hope those kids are having a good party without us!’

And I hope they did. Xo

Leave a Reply

